Ubashiri wa Ligi Kuu Bara – Tanzania Premier League Predictions

BetwayFree Bet Hadi Tsh 10000Claim NowNew registering players only
PremierbetGet a TSH 2500 Free BetClaim NowFor all new registering players

This league has no upcoming matches.

Tanzania Premier League

Tanzania is a sport loving nation and several sports are played in this East African country. Soccer is by far the most popular sport in Tanzania and generally the majority of Tanzanian soccer fans support either Young Africans and Simba FC, which are two of the most popular clubs in Tanzania. These two teams are part of the Tanzanian Premier League and this article seeks to explain about the Tanzania Premier League in detail.

What is the Tanzanian Premier League?

The Tanzanian Premier League is the top-tier professional football league in Tanzania which is administered by the Tanzania Football Federation. The league has been in existence for over 50 years as it was formed in the year 1965. The Premier League was initially formed as the ‘National League’ and the name was later changed to ‘First Division Soccer League’, and in the year 1997, it was renamed to ‘Premier League’ as we know it today.
The Tanzania Premier league is now amongst some of the most lucrative Leagues in Africa as some of the most successful companies like Sportpesa and several others are offering Tanzanian clubs with huge sponsorship deals. As a result, the league is now attracting exciting talent from neighboring countries like Zimbabwe because they can earn a good amount of money in Tanzania than in their local leagues, right now, Prince Dube, a Zimbabwean striker is one of the top performing players in the league.
The Tanzanian Premier is yet to make an impact on the African stage because Tanzanian clubs are yet to play consistently well in African club competitions like the way clubs from Egypt, Morrocco, Algeria, Nigeria, Ghana, DRC and Tanzania do. As a result, Tanzania have one automatic spot for the Champions League and the first placed team at the end of the season qualifies for the CAF Champions League

How many teams are in the league and the format of the Tanzanian Premier League?

The Tanzanian Premier League has gone through a number of phases and the number of teams in the league keeps on changing, currently, the league is made up of a total of 18 Premier League teams that play a double round-robin (this means they will play each other home and away). The team with the most number of points at the end of each season will be crowned champions and automatically qualify for the CAF Champions League. The winner of the Tanzania FA Cup qualifieS for the CAF Confederations Cup. Three bottom-placed teams at the end of the league season are relegated to the First Division League for the following season.

When does the Tanzanian Premier League start?

The Tanzanian Premier League usually starts in September and ends in July in the following year, please note that the season is usually opened by a Community Sheild match which features the league winner against the domestic Cup winner which is the Azam Sports Federation Cup.

Performances over past few seasons in the Tanzanian Premier League?
The Tanzanian Premier League has always been dominated by two teams, Young African and Simba SC and the two teams have won three championships apiece from the 2014–15 seasons. Young Africans won three consecutive titles from 2014–15 up to 2016–17 and Simba SC also won three consecutive titles from 2017–18 up to 2019–20. Currently, Simba SC is leading the title race with 73 points and Yound Africans is in second place and this proves just how dominant these two teams are, you can think of them as the Real Madrid and Barcelona of the Tanzanian Premier League.